Favorites of 2016

I have been terrible with uploading photos to this blog, but here is a roundup of my favorite shots of 2016. In addition to another year out at Santa Anita and the 2016 Breeders’ Cup, I got to experience fall in Colorado and the elk rut in Rocky Mountain National Park. Another big highlight was making two trips out to the Sand Wash Basin HMA in northwestern Colorado where one of the most colorful populations of wild mustangs in the US resides. On a horseracing note, I was privileged enough to see the last year of Beholder’s incredible career and the continued rise of Songbird, which culminated in their epic stretch duel in the Breeders’ Cup Distaff. It was a thrill to be able to follow and photograph them this year, along with the likes of Kentucky Derby winner Nyquist, Preakness and Haskell winner Exaggerator, and of course, superstar California Chrome. I’ll be looking for the next horse to fill the Beholder-sized hole in my heart, but I’m looking forward to another year at the track. I’m also super excited to be going to Kentucky for the first time this spring to experience the Rolex Three Day Event!

My New Year’s resolution is to post here more regularly and get back to writing as well, but you can also find me on my flickr account and on Instagram at @angelnumber25.

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

